

Embargo: 7 July, 14:00 CET

## **EMBO PRESS RELEASE**

# EMBO announces newest elected members

**Heidelberg, 7 July 2020 -** EMBO has bestowed upon 63 leading scientists the lifetime honour of EMBO Membership in recognition of their remarkable achievements in the life sciences, it was announced today.

52 new Members and 11 Associate Members, residing in 25 countries, have been newly elected and join the community of the EMBO Membership. The new Members boast a large range of accomplishments, with candidates elected based on scientific excellence and pioneering research.

"The new Members have contributed to the success of research in the life sciences in Europe and around the world," said EMBO Director Maria Leptin. "As EMBO Members they can help to shape the future through EMBO's work to support talented researchers, bring ideas together, and promote an international research environment conducive to excellent science."

EMBO Members actively participate in EMBO initiatives, for example by serving on EMBO Council and committees, by mentoring young scientists, or supporting activities such as the promotion of sound science policy. Members also guide and support the organisation in ensuring the highest quality in the selection of future members, postdoctoral fellows, and courses and workshops.

The 52 new EMBO Members reside in 18 Member States of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC), EMBO's intergovernmental funding body. The 11 new Associate Members are currently based in Australia, Canada, Chile, India, Japan, Singapore, and the United States. The new Members carry out research across a broad range of life science disciplines, including neuroscience, plant biology, cell biology, signal transduction, development, molecular medicine, immunology, and many more.

EMBO's tradition of recognising outstanding life scientists as Members dates back to 1963, when an initial group of 150 Members were selected by EMBO's Council. Since then, EMBO Members have been invited to nominate and elect exceptional researchers to join the community, which now exceeds 1,800 Members and Associate Members. Elections for EMBO Members are held annually. The new EMBO Members join a growing list of renowned researchers elected before them, which includes 88 Nobel laureates.

An online directory listing all EMBO Members, their affiliations and areas of expertise is available at people.embo.org.



#### Selected statistics

- 63 researchers have been elected to the EMBO Membership 52 Members and 11 Associate Members
- Newly elected Members are based in 25 different countries
- 44% of new Members are women

### **New EMBO Members 2020**

Gregor Anderluh National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana, SI

Alexander Aulehla <u>EMBL</u>, Heidelberg, DE

Eva Bártová Institute of Biophysics of the Czech Academy of

Sciences, Brno, CZ

Patricia Bassereau Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Filippo Del Bene Institut de la Vision, Paris, FR

Caroline Dive

Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, University

of Manchester, UK

Fiona Doetsch Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH

Wolfgang Driever Universität Freiburg, DE
Paul Flicek EMBL-EBI, Hinxton, UK

Alain Goossens

VIB - UGent (Flanders Institute for Biotechnology -

Ghent University), Ghent, Belgium

Berthold Göttgens

Wellcome - MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute,

University of Cambridge, UK

Eva R. Hoffmann

University of Copenhagen, DK

Thorsten Hoppe University of Cologne, DE

Ursula Klingmüller

German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg,

DE

Developmental Biology Institute of Marseilles (IBDM),

Pierre-François FR and

Lenne Turing Center for Living Systems (CENTURI),

Marseilles, FR

François Leulier Institut de Génomique Fonctionnelle de Lyon (IGFL),

FR

Kathryn S. Lilley <u>University of Cambridge</u>, UK

Guillermina López- Instituto de Neurociencias, UMH-CSIC, San Juan de

Bendito Alicante, Spain

Jean-Christophe Marine VIB KU Leuven Center for Cancer Biology, BE

Sascha Martens Max Perutz Labs, University of Vienna, AT

Maria Dolores Centro Andaluz de Biología del Desarrollo, Universidad

Martin-Bermudo Pablo de Olavide, Sevilla, ES



Ana Martin-Villalba German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg,

DE

Sophie G. Martin University of Lausanne, CH

Brian McStay National University of Ireland, Galway, IE

Raphaël Mercier

Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research,

Cologne, DE

Felix Naef Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, CH

Serena Nik-Zainal <u>University of Cambridge</u>, UK

Caren Norden Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Dónal O'Carroll

Centre for Regenerative Medicine, UK and

Wellcome Centre for Cell Biology, Edinburgh, UK

Giles Oldroyd

The Sainsbury Laboratory, UK and

Crop Science Centre, University of Cambridge, UK

Uta Paszkowski

José R. Penadés

University of Cambridge, UK

Imperial College London, UK

Anna Philpott University of Cambridge, UK

Mariana G. Pinho Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica,

Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Oeiras, PT

Karel Říha CEITEC Masaryk University, Brno, CZ

University of Barcelona, ES and

Pere Roca-Cusachs Institut de Bioenginyeria de Catalunya (IBEC),

Barcelona, ES

María Carla Saleh Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR

Yardena Samuels Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Anne Simonsen <u>University of Oslo</u>, NO

Jan Steyaert

VIB-VUB Center for Structural Biology, Vrije

Universiteit Brussel, BE

Katja Sträßer Justus Liebig University, Giessen, DE

Eörs Szathmáry Centre for Ecological Research, Tihany, HU

Christopher G. Tate MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Luis Teixeira Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Aurelio A. Teleman German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg,

DF

Matthias H. Tschöp

Helmholtz Zentrum München, German Research
Center for Environmental Health, Neuherberg, DE

Beatrice Vallone <u>University of Rome 'La Sapienza'</u>, Rome, IT

Danijela Matic

Vignjevic Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Dolf Weijers Wageningen University, NL



Sara A. Wickström, University of Helsinki, FI

Eske Willerslev University of Copenhagen, DK

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Marta Zlatic and <u>University of Cambridge</u>, UK

#### **New EMBO Associate Members 2020**

Sumantra Chattarji National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore, IN

Job Dekker Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of

Massachusetts, Worcester, US

Anne- Claude

**Gingras** 

Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Toronto, CA

Christian Gonzalez-

Billault

Universidad de Chile, Santiago de Chile, CL

Noboru Mizushima University of Tokyo, JP

Akihiko Nakano RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Saitama, JP

Jodi Nunnari <u>University of California, Davis, US</u>

Mitinori Saitou Kyoto University, JP

Geraldine Seydoux Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, US

Peter M. Visscher

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of

Queensland, Brisbane, AU

Hongyan Wang Duke-NUS Medical School, Singapore, SG