



## MINUTE OF JURY SELECTION

## Call for Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (BI-PD) funded by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

On November 28, 2024, at 10:00 am, the jury selection formed by Karina Xavier, Isabel Gordo Teixeira, and Tanja Dapa met to analyze the applications for a postdoctoral fellowship funded by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation.

The call was open from 06/10/2023 until 14/11/2023. The jury analyzed the documents included in the applications found attached to these minutes.

The call received 19 applications that were classified with the following way:

Name	Full application	CV and previous experience (60%)	Motivation letter (20%)	Evaluation (máx. 80%)
1 – Miguel Osset Alvarez	Yes	55	20	75
2 – Pilar Navarro	Yes	50	20	70
3 – Raphael Defaix	Yes	40	20	60
4 – Parkash S. Rawat	Yes	35	15	50
5 - Balwant Singh Paliya	Yes	35	15	50
6 - Riffat Shamim Aslam	Yes	30	15	45
7 – Carolina Vaso	Yes	30	10	40
8 - Victoria Helena Navas Gil	Yes	30	10	40
9 – Deepti Sharma	Yes	25	10	35
10-Yagani Jayavardhana Rao	Yes	25	5	30
11- Anand Raj	Yes	25	5	30
12- Salman Khan	Yes	25	5	30
13-Idris N. Abdullahi	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE
14- Ankur Sood	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE
15-Mohamed Amin	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE
16- Mohamed El Badry	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE
17-Muhammad Imran	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE
18-Muhammad Umair Ijaz	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE
19-Charu	Not Eligible	NE	NE	NE

After considering all applications, the jury convened to interview candidates 1, 2 and 3. Candidates marked with \* were not considered eligible because these candidates already more than 3 years after defending their PhD or did not yet have a PhD.





The interviews occurred via Zoom on December 08 and 13, 2023 and January 16, 2024.

Name	Evaluation (max 60%) - grade -% of the total evaluation of the previous table	Interview (max. 40%) – grade	Total	Comments
				Candidate declined the
1 – Miguel Osset Alvarez	60	40	100	offer
2 – Pilar Navarro	55	30	85	Not Eligible
3 – Raphael Defaix	50	30	80	Accepted the Position

The ranking after the interviews was the following:

After the interviews, the jury considered all three candidates suitable for the position and offered the position to candidate number 1. However, the candidate decided not to accept the position. Following that, we offered the position to the second candidate; while confirming the dates of the documentation to access the candidate's full eligibility, we became aware that she was no longer eligible as she had defended her Ph.D. on October 19, 2020, i.e., according to the IGC regulation for a scientific research fellowship, bullet 3. Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (BI-PD). This type of fellowship is intended for doctorates whose academic degree was obtained less than three years ago for the development of advanced research work. Finally, we offered the position to candidate number 3, Raphael Defaix, who is eligible. During the interview the Raphael revealed to have an experience that is very suitable to the position. We offered the position to Raphael Defaix, by email on January 22, he accepted the position by email correspondence on January 23.

All the candidates were informed of the deliberations of the Jury until January 21, 2024. If there are no complaints during the 10 working days following the publication of this minute, the decisions herein communicated will be considered as effective.

There being no further matters to discuss, the meeting for which these minutes were drawn up was closed and signed by all the members of the Jury.

Oeiras, February 22, 2024

Chair of the Jury - Karina B. Xavier

Karine de Bivar Xavier

Jury member 1 – Isabel Gordo

Jury member 2 – Tanja Dapa

Jaya Dape